There’s something rather rebellious about cooking food with alcohol. Makes me feel like that 15 year old version of me who snuck Mike’s Hard Lemonades out of the fridge. (Oh please! I only did it once!) And I’m not referring to using a touch of cooking sherry here or there. Oh no. We’re talking full-on “alcohol is in the title of this recipe” kind of cooking. Think chicken marsala or beer-battered fish and chips. It’s the kind of food that inspires you to mix a drink while your oven heats because voilà, the ingredients for a great martini are already on-hand!

True, the actual cooking process does burn off the alcohol, but don’t even try to pretend you don’t feel a little sly as an entire bottle of Bud is poured into your batter. At least that’s how I felt last night while I whipped up some beer bread. A whoppin’ 12 ounces went into that loaf and man was it having a good time! It was like a raging foam party in that mixing bowl.

This was also my first foray with self-rising flour and while I think its genius, using it does take some of the fun out of bread making. Sort of like making box brownies rather than a batch from scratch. Half the fun of food is the process it goes through to become a meal. And don’t you just hate that awkward moment when friends swoon over your box-baked goods? Then they ask for the recipe…yeah, not fun. But I think you’ll be safe with this one. Just tell your pals there’s an entire bottle of Carona inside and they’ll think your the coolest thing since sliced bread.

~Brittni

Beer bread
The bread is easy, quick and has a great flavor. The finished product retains a bit of that beer bubble but not enough to make someone instantly say, “Huh, I think I detect a hint of hefeweizen!”

You will need:
2 ½ cups self-rising flour
3 tbsp. sugar
12 oz. beer

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350.

Dump everything into a bowl. This is a no-frills recipe, there’s beer in it for goodness sake!

Stir until the froth subsides and pour into a greased loaf pan.

Bake for 50 minutes or until golden. Let cool on a wire rack and serve. Snicker as friends unknowingly have a beer with dinner.

Yield ~ 1 loaf

