Did you know that today is National Margarita Day?! I love when food gets a holiday. Gives you the perfect excuse to indulge. I found out about this illustrious occasion at the LA Times food page. I feel it is my civic duty to honor the noble drink margarita and will do my part by shaking up some guava infused cocktails later this evening.

And finally (sorry this is a really random post) I have just ordered two new cookbooks, which I am very excited to stay up till 2 a.m. reading once they arrive.

They are:

“The Produce Bible: Essential Ingredient Information and More Than 200 Recipes for Fruits, Vegetables, Herbs & Nuts” By Leanne Kitchen

“The Italian Farmer’s Table: Authentic Recipes and Local Lore from Northern Italy” By Matthew Scialabba and Melissa Pellegrino

The first explores dozens of different vegetables, their histories, uses and, of course, recipes. It seems like the perfect companion to the soon-to-be-opened Olympia Farmer’s Market. I have a feeling we shall get along splendidly.

The second was written by two chefs who spent a summer exploring Northern Italy’s agriturismi. After a quick Google I learned that an agriturismo is an Italian farm which offers room and board. At some, you can actually work on the farm in exchange for your stay. Others are more like a small hotel. But all include amazing farm fresh Italian meals. Can you think of anything more lovely? I have a feeling I’ll be checking out air fares the moment I finish reading this one.

Just so you know, the one thing I love more than eating and cooking food is reading about it! I devour food memoires and peruse the dining pages of the NY/LA/Seattle Times daily. I won’t go into too much detail because I plan on writing a post about this particular obsession later. But I will say that if you ever want to get rid of me for awhile, just put a food book in my hands; you won’t see me for days.

Enjoy those margaritas friends!

~Brittni

Guava Margaritas

You will need:
7 ounces guava nectar
.5 ounces lime juice
2.5 ounces tequila
2 ounces triple sec

Directions:

Toss it all in a (hot pink) cocktail shaker.

Go all Tom Cruise in “Cocktail” on it.

Pour it into pretty sugar-rimmed glasses, garnish with lime and enjoy.

Yield ~ 2 glasses of a swell time

