I have a confession to make: I’m not a huge waffle fan. Feel free to shun me now if you like…I deserve it.

(In my defense, I do eat Mickey waffles every time I visit Disneyland. But those aren’t just any waffles, they’re *magic* waffles and thus, do not fall into the category of Saturday morning “let’s have waffles for breakfast” waffles).

I’m not sure what it is about waffles that causes me to pass right by them on the breakfast menu. Topped with a pile of fresh strawberries, well that’s a different story! But waffles on their own have never been my cup of tea…until today.

“Alright Britt,” I told myself. “It’s time to confront the waffle!”

And friends, I think I’ve figured out what has been missing all these years…homemade batter and egg whites.

I have always made both pancakes and waffles from that trademark box you find in most American kitchens. Just add water, give it a stir and you’re done! Easy? Yes. A bit boring after a while? Also yes. So this morning, I set out to make my own batter. Sorry Aunt Jemima, back to the pantry you go!

The batter recipe I found is easy, utilizes everyday baking products most have on hand and can be whipped up in a matter of minutes. And best of all it’s basic, which means you can add anything you want to make them your own. I chose to spice things up with a mix of cinnamon, nutmeg and, my all time favorite spice, cardamom.

But the most important addition to this batter is the egg whites.  Folded into the batter, they lend a light, fluffy texture to the finished waffles, which unfortunately makes it very easy to eat several.

Hallelujah dear readers! I’ve been converted to the way of the waffle.

~Brittni

Three-spice Belgian waffles
Adapted from the Food Network

Cake flour gives these waffles a smooth, silky finish. However, feel free to use all-purpose flour if that’s what you have on hand. This recipe is also basic and can be tweaked to suit your taste preferences. For example, add coconut and almond extract for a nutty/tropical flare. One step I cannot stress enough is to not over-mix your batter, especially after the addition of the egg whites. The less you over-mix, the fluffier your waffles will be!

You will need:
2 cups cake flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. cardamom
1/8 tsp. nutmeg
4 large eggs, separated
2 tbsp. sugar
1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
4 tbsp. unsalted butter, melted
2 cups milk
non-stick cooking spray

Directions:

Preheat your waffle iron.

Meanwhile, in a medium bowl sift together flour, baking powder, salt and spices. Set aside.

In a second bowl use a wooden spoon to beat together the egg yolks and sugar until sugar is completely dissolved and eggs have turned a pale yellow. Add the vanilla extract, melted butter, and milk to the eggs and whisk to combine.

Combine the egg-milk mixture with the flour mixture and whisk just until blended. Do not over mix.

In a third bowl, beat the egg whites with an electric mixer until soft peaks form, about 1 minute. Using the rubber spatula, gently fold the egg whites into the waffle batter. Do not overmix.

Coat the waffle iron with non-stick cooking spray and pour enough batter in iron to just cover waffle grid. Close and cook until golden brown, about 2 to 3 minutes. Serve immediately.

Yield ~ About 12 waffles

