If Holly Golightly were my psychiatrist, then yesterday she would have diagnosed me with a bad case of the “mean reds.”

Translation: I was in a horrible mood and had no idea why.

(If you don’t know which film I am referencing, then go here right now and have some breakfast at Tiffany’s.)

To make it worse, the sun was shining and my boyfriend drove down to take me out to lunch. So not only was I moody, but everything – even the weather – was being nice to me. This of course only made me feel worse for being a downer in the first place.

So, I did what any self-respecting girl does when she’s feeling a little “red.”

I went home and made dessert.

A banana-plum crumble with lime to be exact.

Cooking dessert is like an instant dose of happy to me. Maybe it’s the fact that I’m actively doing something or maybe it’s just the sugar. I’m really not sure.

But whatever it is, it worked. And before long I was basking in the glorious glow of juicy fruit and melting butter.

So next time you’re feeling a little red, or maybe even just a little blue, do what I do and make yourself a crumble. Your heart will melt and I guarantee you’ll be smiling again in no time.

Oh, and I almost forgot: HAPPY SPRING EVERYONE!

~Brittni


Banana Plum Crumble with Lime

Adapted from The Produce Bible

This is an easy dessert that is sure to impress with its dynamic flavor combination and gorgeous ruby-red color. The subtle, creamy baked banana juxtaposes the fresh bite of the juicy plums, with the lime and coconut adding a tropical flair. I substituted whole-wheat flour for all-purpose but you can use the later if that’s what you have on hand.

You will need:

1/4 cup whole-wheat flour (all-purpose works fine too)
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup shredded coconut
1/4 cup soft, brown sugar
finely grated zest of 1 lime
1/3 cup chilled unsalted butter, cut into cubes
2 bananas, peeled and halved lengthwise
4 plums, halved and pits removed
1/4 cup lime juice
whipped cream or vanilla ice cream, to serve

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350.

Combine the flour, rolled oats, coconut, sugar and zest in a small bowl. Add the butter and using your fingertips (or a pastry cutter) rub the butter into the flour mixture until crumbly.

Put the bananas and plums in a 5-cup baking dish. Pour the lime juice over the fruit and toss to coat.

Sprinkle the crumble mixture evenly over the fruit. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the crumble is golden.

Serve hot with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.

Yield ~ 4 servings

